Once you have a research question, you need information sources to answer it. Your sources should also address the following information needs:
The types of sources that you use will depend on your assignment as well as your topic. Ask yourself questions such as:
Once you determine what information you need, you're ready to select the types of sources that best fit your need. The following table describes the most common source types.
| Source Type | Disadvantages | Best for... |
|---|---|---|
| Encyclopedias Encyclopedias contain brief overviews or summaries on a given topic. A typical article includes definitions, background information, key ideas, facts and statistics. The authors are experts in their field of study. General encyclopedias cover a broad range of topics while subject encyclopedias provide more comprehensive coverage in a specific field. |
Because they mostly repeat established, factual information, encyclopedias should not be cited in a college research paper, unless directly quoted. | Good place to start if you know very little about a topic Background information Key ideas, facts, dates and concepts References to other relevant sources |
| Books Books provide in-depth coverage on a given topic. They can be written for a range of readers, from general audiences to scholars. Academic books written by scholars always contain a bibliography of sources referenced in the book. |
Not as current as other sources Not conducive to quick overview |
Background information Broad overview of topic or event Background and historical information References to other relevant sources |
| Magazines Magazines contain articles on topics of popular interest and current events. Articles are geared toward a general audience and are written by staff writers or reporters (usually not subject experts) who may or may not cite their sources. Magazines are usually published on a weekly or monthly basis. |
Articles not always written by subject experts Include varying points of view and opinions which require evaluation No references |
General information written for non-experts or the general public Timely information or opinions on current issues or popular culture Information on people in the news |
| Newspapers Newspapers provide up-to-date information on the latest developments on various issues or current events. Coverage can be local, regional, national and international. Articles are written by staff writers or reporters. Some articles contain factual information while others are opinion-based. Newspapers are usually published daily or weekly. |
Articles often focus on relevant facts rather than big picture Ongoing stories may not be reported consistently, leaving gaps in information Information may be biased |
Breaking news Information on local issues or events Expert and popular opinions (e.g., editorials and other opinion pieces) Older newspapers provide a historical perspective |
| Academic/Scholarly Journals Journal articles are written by experts in a field for other experts. They provide in-depth research on very specific topics. Some journals are peer reviewed, meaning the articles have been vetted by other scholars for quality and importance. Journals are typically published on a monthly or quarterly basis. |
Contain specialized jargon difficult for non-experts to understand Focus of article may be too narrow for general research needs |
Authoritative, in-depth information Evidence Learn what professionals are writing and publishing about your topic References to other scholarly sources |
| Web Sites Web browsers offer access to content that is freely available on the internet including web pages, blogs, social media sites, images, videos and sound files. Digital copies of the source types listed above may be available as well. |
Since anyone can publish on the internet, websites vary in terms of the quality of information they offer. You must carefully evaluate what you find. | Up-to-the-minute information |
"Sources and information needs" adapted from Sources and Information Needs, by Teaching & Learning, Ohio State University Libraries, licensed under a CC BY 4.0 license. "Types of information sources" adapted from Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research, created by Teaching & Learning, Ohio State University Libraries under a CC BY 4.0 license; and Types of Information Sources, created by LaChance Library, Mount Wachusett Community College (used with permission).